Ingredient Glossary
Common food additives and ingredients, with their halal, haram, or mushbooh (doubtful) status explained.
162 ingredients
- Acetic Acid (Vinegar) (E260)
Halal - Aged Hard Cheese (Parmesan, Pecorino, Traditional Cheddar)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Almond (Almonds)
Halal - Artificial Flavor (Artificial Flavoring)
Halal - Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C) (E300)
Halal - Bacon
Haram - Baking Powder
Halal - Beef Broth (Beef Bouillon, Beef Stock)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Beef Jerky (Jerky)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Beer (as ingredient) (Wine (as ingredient), Cooking Wine)
Haram - Beeswax (E901)
Halal - Black Pepper (Pepper)
Halal - Brown Sugar
Halal - Butter
Halal - Buttermilk
Halal - Caesar Dressing (Caesar Salad Dressing)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Canola Oil
Halal - Carmoisine (Azorubine) (E122)
Halal - Carnauba Wax (E903)
Halal - Casein (Sodium Caseinate, Calcium Caseinate)
Halal - Cellulose (Microcrystalline / Methylcellulose) (E460)
Halal - Chicken Broth (Chicken Bouillon, Chicken Stock)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Chicken Sausage (Turkey Sausage)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Cinnamon
Halal - Cocoa Butter
Halal - Cocoa Powder (Cocoa)
Halal - Coconut Oil
Halal - Collagen (Collagen Peptides, Hydrolyzed Collagen)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Copper Complexes of Chlorophyll (E141)
Halal - Corn Oil
Halal - Corn Starch (Cornstarch)
Halal - Corn Syrup
Halal - Cream (Heavy Cream)
Halal - Curcumin (E100)
Halal - Dextrose
Halal - Disodium Guanylate & Inosinate (Flavor Enhancers) (E627)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Donuts (Doughnuts)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - E120 (Carmine, Cochineal, Cochineal Extract…)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - E150 (Caramel Color)
Halal - E160b (Annatto)
Halal - E170 (Calcium Carbonate)
Halal - E301 (Sodium Ascorbate)
Halal - E306 (Tocopherols, Vitamin E)
Halal - E322 (Soy Lecithin, Lecithin (soy))
Halal - E325 (Sodium Lactate)
Halal - E330 (Citric Acid)
Halal - E339 (Sodium Phosphates)
Halal - E401 (Sodium Alginate)
Halal - E406 (Agar-Agar, Agar)
Halal - E407 (Carrageenan)
Halal - E414 (Gum Arabic, Acacia Gum)
Halal - E421 (Mannitol)
Halal - E422 (Glycerin, Glycerol)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - E425 (Konjac, Konjac Gum)
Halal - E440 (Pectin)
Halal - E441 (Gelatin (EU code))
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - E466 (Carboxymethyl Cellulose, CMC)
Halal - E471 (Mono- and Diglycerides of Fatty Acids)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - E481 (Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - E507 (Hydrochloric Acid)
Halal - E508 (Potassium Chloride)
Halal - E509 (Calcium Chloride)
Halal - E542 (Bone Phosphate, Edible Bone Phosphate)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - E551 (Silicon Dioxide, Silica)
Halal - E620 (Glutamic Acid)
Halal - E621 (Monosodium Glutamate, MSG)
Halal - E920 (L-Cysteine)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - E950 (Acesulfame Potassium, Acesulfame K)
Halal - E951 (Aspartame)
Halal - E952 (Cyclamate, Sodium Cyclamate)
Halal - E954 (Saccharin)
Halal - E955 (Sucralose)
Halal - E960 (Steviol Glycosides, Stevia)
Halal - E965 (Maltitol)
Halal - E967 (Xylitol)
Halal - E968 (Erythritol)
Halal - Eggs (Egg)
Halal - Esters of Mono- and Diglycerides (E472)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Ethanol (Food-Grade Alcohol) (Ethanol)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Fatty Acids and Salts (Stearic Acid) (E470)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - French Fries (Fries, Chips (UK))
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Garlic
Halal - Gelatin (Gelatine)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Ginger
Halal - Glucose Syrup
Halal - Guar Gum (E412)
Halal - Gummy Candy (Gummy Bears, Gummy Worms, Wine Gums)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Ham
Haram - Honey
Halal - Hot Dog (Frankfurter, Wiener)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein (HVP)
Halal - Isinglass
Halal - Kombucha
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Lactic Acid (E270)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Lard (Pork Fat)
Haram - Lipase (Animal Lipase)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Locust Bean Gum (E410)
Halal - Magnesium Stearate (E572)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Maltodextrin
Halal - Margarine
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Marshmallow (Marshmallows)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Mayonnaise (Mayo)
Halal - Microbial Rennet (Fermentation-Produced Chymosin) (Chymosin)
Halal - Milk
Halal - Molasses
Halal - Natural Flavor (Natural Flavoring)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Natural Flavoring (Alcohol-Based) (Vanilla Extract)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Non-Alcoholic Beer (Alcohol-Free Beer)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Oats (Oatmeal)
Halal - Olive Oil
Halal - Onion
Halal - Palm Oil
Halal - Pancreatin (Pancreatic Enzymes)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Papain
Halal - Paprika
Halal - Peanut (Peanuts)
Halal - Pepperoni
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Pepsin
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Pie Crust (Pastry Dough, Puff Pastry)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Polyglycerol Polyricinoleate (PGPR) (E476)
Halal - Polysorbate 60 (Polysorbate 65, Polysorbate 80)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Pork Sausage (Bratwurst, Chorizo (pork))
Haram - Potassium Sorbate (E202)
Halal - Potato Starch
Halal - Prosciutto (Parma Ham)
Haram - Refried Beans
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Rennet (Animal Rennet)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Riboflavin (Vitamin B2) (E101)
Halal - Rice (Rice Flour)
Halal - Salami
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Salt (Sea Salt)
Halal - Sesame Oil
Halal - Sesame Seed (Sesame Seeds)
Halal - Shellac (Confectioner's Glaze) (E904)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Sodium Benzoate (E211)
Halal - Sodium Bicarbonate (Baking Soda) (E500)
Halal - Sodium Nitrite / Nitrate (E250)
Halal - Sorbic Acid (E200)
Halal - Sorbitan Esters (Sorbitan Monostearate) (E491)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Soy Sauce (Shoyu, Tamari)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Soybean Oil
Halal - Sugar (White Sugar)
Halal - Sulphites (Sulfur Dioxide) (E220)
Halal - Sunflower Oil
Halal - Sunset Yellow FCF (E110)
Halal - Sushi
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Tallow (Beef or Mutton Fat) (Tallow)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Tartaric Acid (E334)
Halal - Tartrazine (E102)
Halal - Tomato Paste (Tomato)
Halal - Vanillin (Imitation Vanilla) (Vanillin)
Halal - Vegetable Oil
Halal - Vegetable Shortening
Halal - Vinegar (Distilled Vinegar, White Vinegar, Apple Cider Vinegar…)
Halal - Water
Halal - Wheat Flour (Flour)
Halal - Whey (Whey Powder)
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Wine Vinegar (Balsamic Vinegar, Malt Vinegar (wine-derived))
Halal - Worcestershire Sauce
Mushbooh (Doubtful) - Xanthan Gum (E415)
Halal - Yeast (Baker's Yeast)
Halal - Yogurt (Yoghurt)
Halal